Claiming PDUs (General)


Once you obtain your certification, PMI offers programs and services to help you understand what is needed to maintain your credential and to guide you through that process.

Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program

Once you are a certification holder, you need to adhere to PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program. To follow the program, participate in professional development activities to earn professional development units (PDUs) and maintain your certification.

Maintaining Your PMI Certification

  • Learn more about the CCR program
  • What PDUs are
  • How to earn and claim PDUs
  • Step-by-step instructions on how to renew your certification

Certification-Specific Requirements

Every certification requires a specific amount of PDUs per three-year certification cycle. Since the requirements are different for each certification, visit their respective pages to find out more:

The exception to the CCR program is the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, which requires you to retake the CAPM exam before the end of your five-year certification cycle.

To learn more about claiming PDUs and Maintaining your PMI Credential, see source: